turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

Technically you dont report expenses on schedule D.  They are on schedule C.  You just need them to come off the captial gains income you are showing which is on schedule D.

It will look like this 

Schedule C :

Individually list expenses. 

Total

10k.

You need to zero out the expenses.  So either do that with a footnote explains such.  OR if you are using turbo tax make a new expense line item in the form of a negative 10k.

New Grand total on Schedule C  is now 0.

Schedule D:

Capital gains and losses: 50k

-10k (expenses carryover from schedule C)

capital gains and losses on schedule D :  40k

The easiest way to do this is on turbo tax is to make a new "fake" trade on -10k.  Thus it comes off the 50k total. 

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

So the expenses are listed on schedule C.  But you are not getting any kind of deduction there because the final total is marked as 0 

@cboizauer wrote:

So the expenses are listed on schedule C.  But you are not getting any kind of deduction there because the final total is marked as 0 

I don't get Sch C offset,

see photos

https://ibb.co/8j40Kzy
https://ibb.co/gJcyRBP
https://ibb.co/10059jN

I thought about just taking it off the 1099B total, but it would raised red flag