turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Saruby

I'm an independent contractor, when I'm estimating my tax payments, do I include my spouses income?

I just started working from home, I'm trying to figure out my estimated tax payments for this year.  On the 2017 Estimated Tax Worksheet, Line 1 (AGI)- do I include my spouses salary as well as my expected income?  Or just my income?  My spouse receives a w-2 and has taxes withheld through his company,  the company I work for doesn't give this option.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
JaimeG

I'm an independent contractor, when I'm estimating my tax payments, do I include my spouses income?

If you are a Joint Filer you should enter the information as it is on your Tax Return. Essentially you and your spouse share the AGI from a Married Filing Joint return so you would enter this value to calculate your 1040ES. The IRS States as such regarding Estimated payments:

"If you don’t pay enough tax through withholding and estimated tax payments, you may be charged a penalty. You also may be charged a penalty if your estimated tax payments are late, even if you are due a refund when you file your tax return."           

https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/estimated-taxes

The Federal Withholding from your husband's paycheck is also considered towards this estimated Payment amount during the year. Nevertheless it is advisable to make the highest Estimated Payment Possible. This will help in keeping Penalties away but above all provide Peace of Mind.

I have the following questions and hope you can assist me.