Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to start my tax filing on turbo tax Home and business

Hi,

I am faced with so many questions and I don't know how to start. I use to start by myself first, and then enter my wife information. however, this year, my wife hired me to do some work for her for her business, and therefore, I need to use the 1099 NEC that she issued for me to file my taxes.

So I decided to start with her, since Turbo tax asked if I want to issue a W2 or a 1099. However, when I did that, it has give another to whether I choose to do employee form online or on my computer. it says online is recommended. I am not sure, what should I do? this is my first time doing this. Please explain and elaborate.

Best...

Tarek

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

12 Replies

You are in the wrong place.  Did your wife already prepare the 1099NEC?  Or does she need to create it?  You still file a Joint return.

Get out of these screens.  Those are just to prepare W2s or 1099s.  Start over with a New Return.

In the Window's Home & Business Desktop program when you start a new return you get 2 choices. To prepare an Individual Tax Return or to prepare W2s or 1099s to give to your employees and sub contractors.

Click the big blue button to Start a New Return or go up to the top black menu bar first item, File-New Tax Return.
Then on the next screen it asks What would you like to do?
If you get a screen with 2 choices, Pick or Check the one that says Start a New Individual Tax Return or says 2023 US Form 1040.

When you get that far and still have questions then post back.  I have Home & Business too so I can make you screen shots.