turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Aren't HSA contributions pretax? Why does my refund drop by $1500 when I input $4000 on form W-2 box 12 code W "Employer contributions to Health Savings Account"?

This is my first year using an HSA. I contributed $3000 and my employer contributed $1000. How is it that my federal refund could be reduced in any way by using an HSA?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

25 Replies
HollyP
Employee Tax Expert

Aren't HSA contributions pretax? Why does my refund drop by $1500 when I input $4000 on form W-2 box 12 code W "Employer contributions to Health Savings Account"?

Yes, this is because entering your HSA is a two-step process in TurboTax, so you just have to keep going. Since you are not done entering all your information, this change in the refund is correct. Remember that refund number is just a work in progress until you're actually done entering in all your information.

HSA information is entered in 2 sections of TurboTax. First in Wages & Income as a W-2, 12 code W. But then you have to also enter it in the Deduction & Credits section under HSA, MSA Contributions too. So long as you meet all the requirements such as only using the HSA distributions for medical purposes and having a high-deductible health plan (HDHP) then your contributions on the W-2, box 12, Code W will not be taxed. See the following TurboTax FAQ for more info. https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/4787864

To jump to the HSA, MSA Contribution section take these steps:

1. Sign in to TurboTax Online
  2. Click take me to my return  
  3. Click Federal Taxes
  4. Click Deductions & Credits