Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I should be exempt from filing CT taxes due to not living there for the entire year. Since I am in the military my home of record is CT, but I should not pay taxes?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

18 Replies
Carl
Level 15

I should be exempt from filing CT taxes due to not living there for the entire year. Since I am in the military my home of record is CT, but I should not pay taxes?

Does your W-2 show CT state taxes withheld in box 17 for the tax year?

Not for the entire year, I was not notified to re-file exempt so I believe I had a couple months of state wages taken out. I have been filing exempt for 3-4 years now, so I was confused when I saw state taxes being taken out.

You pay taxes on your active duty earnings to your home of record state, not the state in which you are stationed. Assuming you meet all three prongs of the non-resident test for CT, you'll have to file a return to reclaim the improper withholding.

If you meet all three conditions for being treated as a nonresident for the taxable year but you had Connecticut income tax withheld from your military pay in error, you must file Form CT-1040NR/PY to request a refund.  Complete Lines 1-5 following the directions on the form.  Enter “0” on Line 6 if you had no income from Connecticut sources.  Complete the rest of the form including the withholding information under section 3 of the return.  Attach a statement to the front of the return stating:

* That you did not have a permanent place of abode in Connecticut during the taxable year;