turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

All Prior Depreciations show as zero..

Hi all,

I recently 1031-exchanged a condo I owned for 20 years.  I have been renting it since 2009.  

I am trying to figure out the total depreciation I have claimed over the years, but the 2019 Form 4562 report shows prior depreciation as zero.  I went back and looked at my taxes a few years back and all of them show the prior depreciation as zero.

Is there a scenario where my depreciation was not allowed?  or something else could be wrong?

I have been using TurboTax online all along.

Thanks in advance!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies
Carl
Level 15

First, make sure you're looking at the correct 4652. There are two of those for each rental property and both print in landscape format. One is titled "Depreciation and Amortization Report" and this one is most likely the one you want. The other is titled "Alternative Minimum Tax Depreciation" and most likely will show all zeros in the depreciation columns.

@Carl thanks for pointing out.  Both forms have zeros in "Prior Depreciation' column.  I checked my 2019 and 2017 returns, same in both.

However, schedule E, line 18 does show a number in both.  

Carl
Level 15

But does the "current depreciation" column of the 4562's from 2017-2019 have numbers in them? I ask, because if they do, I may be able to explain why.

@Carl yes, the 'Current Depreciation' column has a number in each year's return.

Carl
Level 15