turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

mike_kooi

How do I clarify depreciation amount when I rented out a room in my home for nine months and turbotax does not allow me clarify that it was only 25% of the house?

Actually I have been renting the room out since January of 2015 and then got married and he moved out at the end of September. So does that mean that I have to check off that I converted it from rental to personal use during the year?
mike_kooi

How do I clarify depreciation amount when I rented out a room in my home for nine months and turbotax does not allow me clarify that it was only 25% of the house?

Fulton County, Georgia.  I used 25% because it is a relatively small condo and it is one of four rooms in the condo.  I can certainly adjust it down if I have to, but it is one of four rooms.  I guess if you add the two bathrooms it is one of five or six.
Carl
Level 15

So are you working on your 2015 return? DId you report this on your 2015 return? Now this is starting to sound like a potential mess, since I wasn't aware of the above.
mike_kooi

Also, when I enter expenses. Am I supposed to enter the total of utilities, insurance, mortgage interest, etc. for the entire property for entire year without dividing them up? Does the program reduce them by days rented and percentage of the house rented or do I have to do that prior to entering them into the program? Again, there is little to no info provided by turbotax to guide me on this.
mike_kooi

I did report it last year. Everything seemed to work fine last year
mike_kooi

I am only working on the 2016 return
mike_kooi