turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why is TurboTax treating my scholarship as taxable income when it isn't?

I am a grad student enrolled at least half time. I received a 1098-T for 2019 with $5,000 in scholarships or grants in box 5. My box 1 amount is well in excess of. I don't qualify for any education deductions. Scholarship funds were used to pay for qualified expenses, so should be non-taxable, but TurboTax is treating the scholarship as taxable and I can't figure out why and how to fix it in TurboTax.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

34 Replies
BarbaraW22
Expert Alumni

Even though you used your scholarship for education expenses, there are some instances where it may be taxable.

Scholarships are taxable when used for any of the following:

• Room and board
  • Travel 
  • Research
  • Clerical help
  • Equipment and other expenses that are not required

Per IRS Publication 970, a scholarship is only tax-free if it is used for qualified education expenses, not designated for other purposes and does not represent payment for teaching, research or other services.

Qualified education expenses include tuition, fees, books, supplies or equipment that are required for enrollment or attendance.

If your scholarship was used only for qualified education expenses, review your entries in TurboTax to make sure everything was entered correctly. See the steps below to access your education entries:

1. Click on Federal from the menu on the left-hand side of the screen and then on "Deductions and Credits" at the top.
  2. Scroll down to "Education" and click "Show More"
  3. Click on "Start" or "Revisit" to the right of "Expenses and Scholarships" and review your entries