turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Residency Status for Tax Purposes if Parents Move During College

Hi, I understand that if I am a college student attending college out-of-state, I am still considered a resident of my home state, at least until I graduate college (for tax purposes).

However, what happens if my parents move to a different state while I am still in college? Would my residency (for tax purposes only) change to their new state?

For example, I am a resident of IL and attend a college in CA (Class of 2025). However, my parents are moving to Georgia soon - would I also become a Georgia resident if they become one next year? I have not found guidance online for this issue.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

"Hi, I understand that if I am a college student attending college out-of-state, I am still considered a resident of my home state, at least until I graduate college (for tax purposes)."

Not always.  You have one and only one domicile.  Your domicile is your permanent home.  No single factor decides, but factors include your school, your work, your important family ties, social relationships, primary medical and dental care, family relationships, and so on.  You can be away from your domicile for a long time without actually changing your domicile.  To establish a new domicile you must also take steps to abandon your previous domicile.  If you search for "domicile and taxes" you will find lots more on this.