turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Grad Health Insurance and 1098-T

I am a graduate research assistant, so I am employed by my university. I get a W2 and all of my fees paid for, including health insurance, as a benefit of my employment. Box 5 on my 1098-T includes the money paid for by my employment for health insurance. I've seen conflicting info on if this is taxed - as I understand it, if this was from a fellowship or something, it would be taxed. But this is from my employment, so I think it should not be? Is it not the same as if I had a normal industry job that paid for my health insurance premiums, which is normally an untaxed benefit?

If I'm correct that it's untaxed, should I enter it as tax-free employer provided assistance or as something else?

Thanks!!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

14 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

It's not clear what's going on there.  Employer paid health insurance is not reported in box 5 of a 1098-T, even at a university.  If anywhere, it's in box 12 or box 14 of the W-2.  The most likely explanation is you're confused.

But the simple rule is that anything in box 5 is tax free if used for qualified educational expenses (QEE).  Your QEE are shown in box 1 of the 1098-T.   The difference between the two is taxable income (if box 5 is more than box 1).   You may reduce the taxable amount by any other QEE you have, not shown in box 1. e.g. books.

KrisD15
Expert Alumni

You should speak with the HR department. 

If it were reported on the W-2, you're right, it would not be taxable income. 

Reported in Box 5 of the 1098-T does make it taxable.