cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Level 1

If i am a college student, am i a resident of the state that my school is in?

5 Replies
Level 15

Technically, your tax home is where you have roots, a drivers license and are registered to vote.  But as a college student, the simplest approach is to declare your tax home in the state where you earned the income in you earned it where you go to school.

Level 2

Good question. I am facing the same question. I went to school in Chicago (IL), did my internship in New York (where I earned income), before starting my company (CA). My home state is VA. Would love some input on this field to make sure I'm filing accurately!

Level 20

Your state of residence, sometimes referred to as your home state, is the state where your roots are. Attending college in a state does not come anywhere close to making you a residence of that state *FOR TAX PURPOSES*. While colleges will have their own residency requirements to determine if you pay resident tuition rates or non-resident tuition rates, it has absolutely no bearing on your home state for your taxes.

Generally, an undergraduate qualifies to be claimed as a dependent on the parent's tax return. So the student's home state is the state they lived in (usually with the parents) before starting college. Each state has their own residency requirements and definition of what constitutes a resident of that state. Attending a college in that state isn't one of them.

Generally, for federal tax purposes your home state is:

- Where you got your drivers license issued (and your resident address as shown on that license)

- Where your vehicle is registered

- Where you are registered to vote

- Where you own real property