turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a full time college student and also a recipient of federal work study. Taxes aren't taken out of my paycheck, will I still need to file taxes next year?

I am a full time college student and also a recipient of federal work study. Taxes aren't taken out of my paycheck, will I still need to file taxes next year?

The federal work study is shown on my finical aid status, does that mean I do not need to file taxes next year and my mom can claim me as a student? Or will I need to file?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
MaryK4
Expert Alumni

Depending on the amount you earn, you may need to file a tax return.  If you are a dependent and the total is less than the personal exemption ($12,400 for 2020) you would not have to file a tax return.  

Except in rare cases, work study is treated as any other job but also counts as part of your financial aid. You should check with the school- you want to make sure they have the correct information for withholding.

If you are a full time college student under age 24, if you do not pay for more than half of your own support (including tuition and living expenses)- your mom should still be able to claim you as a dependent.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15

How was the income reported to you; W-2, 1098-T box 5, 1099?