turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ddfr72
Returning Member

First Gen Student - Back taxes because of scholarship?

I've gotten myself in a bit of a tricky situation.

I am a full-time student on a full ride to college, (usually) work part-time , and my parents claim me as their dependent. My college is pretty expensive and they charge a large amount for housing and meals and they pay for my health insurance. I never actually see this money and my college essentially pays itself, so I hadn't been including it as taxable income on my taxes because I thought I didn't have to. That is, until this year, when I used my 1098-T to fill out a portion I had never noticed about scholarships (pretty dumb I know). After I inputted the information, it said that I actually owed about $2000 for taxes. I initially thought that it was an error but when I researched it, I realized I had messed up. The worst part is that I have been doing this since 2017 and based just on my part-time jobs, I had been receiving refunds. I have left out anywhere from 10k to 15k every year of taxable scholarship income (total scholarship is ~70k but 10-15k is what is used for room and board) and probably owe MUCH more than I can afford right now as a broke college student. I usually live on campus but I am living at home with my parents because of covid, and I recently quit my job to focus on school. My parents definitely won't be able to help me because they barely get by, and I won't able to get a "real" job until I graduate in May 2022. I want to seek help from a professional but I don't think that I can afford it. I really want to get it corrected as soon as possible to avoid any other issues. Is there any way that I could manage this myself?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?