Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

SEP Eligibility Rules

Hi All,

I have a client who has a multi-member LLC tree service business.  He and his partner are each 50% owners.  They have no direct employees but have seven "leased employees."  And in this case, I'm not technically referring to the IRS definition of a leased employee but will get to that in a moment.  They are simply employed by a payroll company and referred to by that company as "leased employees."

As for the IRS definition of a leased employee, all seven do meet the three criteria spelled out in chapter 1 of IRS Publication 560.  Furthermore, the employees do not qualify for any of the three exceptions.  Therefore, according to chapter 1 of IRS Publication 560, they "…must generally be treated as your employee for retirement plan purposes…"

SEPs are referenced in chapter 2 of pub 560, but it is not clear in that publication or in other documents on irs.gov whether this particular rule on leased employees being treated as your employees applies to a SEP.  It is crystal clear that the rule applies to "qualified plans" but not as clear on SEPs.  In chapter 4 (Qualified Plans), this section appears:

"Leased employee. A leased employee, defined in chapter 1, who performs services for you (recipient of the services) is treated as your employee for certain plan qualification rules."

So, here's my question:

Does this rule on a leased employee being treated as your employee for retirement plan purposes apply to SEPs?

The rest of the story is this: