turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

DawnC
Employee Tax Expert

Will Turbo Tax work if I am a full time trader in commodities (self employed), formed a sole proprietorship LLC in May, and elected Mark to Market (IRC 475) accounting?

You can't contribute to a SEP without self-employment income.   @spencer00

You only need to enter SEP IRA contributions made through self-employment work. If your employer made a SEP IRA contribution for you, then you don’t need to enter it in your return. (While you could contribute more to an employer-sponsored SEP IRA, TurboTax doesn’t support these contributions.)

Before you enter your SEP IRA contributions, first make sure you've entered self-employed income. This allows us to calculate the maximum amount you're allowed to contribute to your SEP IRA.

The contributions you make to each employee's SEP-IRA each year cannot exceed the lesser of:

1. 25% of compensation/SE income, or 
  2. $58,000 for 2021 ($57,000 for 2020 and subject to annual cost-of-living adjustments for later years).
**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Will Turbo Tax work if I am a full time trader in commodities (self employed), formed a sole proprietorship LLC in May, and elected Mark to Market (IRC 475) accounting?

Thank you for your reply. Where on turbo tax able enter self  employed income ? As a full trader per Irs criteria, a trader is also entitled to set up a qualified retirement plan if the capital gain made . Problem here the gain entered Sch D. Not sure how to handle this issue. Thx

DawnC
Employee Tax Expert