turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Non-Resident Limited Partner in S-Corp State's to File In

I am a limited partner in an S-Corporation that does business in California. I am a Maryland resident and did not actively participate in the business in 2019. Do I need to file a California state return in this case? 

My gut instinct is that I should, but, after entering all of my information, TurboTax only stated that I needed to file a MD state return. Could someone please confirm that TurboTax is correct or point me to the relevant portion of the tax code that states that I should file a CA return?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
PerryR
Intuit Alumni

Good question.  This CA AGI can be misleading.  Essentially the CA AGI is from ALL sources...MD AGI is the same--income from ALL sources.  This, of course, seems inherently unfair because CA and MD are both taxing the same income...Double Taxation anathema to taxpayers.  A system is in place however to remove or mitigate the Double Tax Effect.  Typically, the Resident State (MD) will offer up a credit for "Taxes Paid to Another State" (CA).  The credit is the lesser of the tax paid to the other state or the tax on that income at the Resident State rate.  An example may help to clarify:

Income from all sources = $100,000 (Fed AGI)

Resident State (MD) = $98,000

Non-Resident State (CA) = $2,000

Always prepare the Non-resident Tax Return first.

After all the deductions/credits CA Taxable income = $50,000 and the Tax = $4,000+

BUT: only 2% of the income is CA sourced so the final Tax for CA is: $4,000 X .02 = $80

Next...the Resident State (MD) tax return.