turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How do I report my situation properly on TurboTax? I was a freelancer in 2019, owned a business in 2019 and ended it in 2019. I have a 1099 form from a client.

For other clients, I do not have any tax forms but I know how much I made. I'm just confused how to input my business which I made $300 cash (but have $1,000 in advertising deductions), and my total freelance income (having only one 1099 form, but needing to report the income for other clients).
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
RobertG
Expert Alumni

How do I report my situation properly on TurboTax? I was a freelancer in 2019, owned a business in 2019 and ended it in 2019. I have a 1099 form from a client.

Here's how you enter your self-employment income. 

• Under Self-employment income and expenses
  • report the cash as: 'Other self-employed income. Includes 1099-K, cash, and checks.'
  • Report the 1099 as: '1099-MISC. Add all 1099-MISCs for this work.'
**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you! 

On a side note, the business that I started (and ended in 2019) had a profit of $300, but with all my advertising deductions, web hosting fees, and software fees, I have a net income of $-1,189.00. Is this ok to submit to the IRS (having a negative profit because of deductions)? I no longer run this business. 

JulieS
Employee Tax Expert

Yes, you can deduct your loss even though you ended this business.  Having a loss on a small business is very common during the first three years.