Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am an independent contractor and I am subcontracting to a LLC corporation. They are not required to 1099 misc. Do they still fill out w9? How do I report their earnings

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

I am an independent contractor and I am subcontracting to a LLC corporation. They are not required to 1099 misc. Do they still fill out w9? How do I report their earnings

Why are they not required to 1099?  
**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Turbo tax answers told me that an LLC that is an s or c Corp doesn't need to have a 1099 misc.

Just to be clear.  This is a LLC that you pay?  Not that is paying you, right?  You can enter what you paid anyone or LLC under Contact Labor Schedule C line 11 even if you don't issue them a 1099Misc.

Yes, we are paying them. Thank you for your response, it was the answer I was looking for

You issue a 1099-MISC for payments of more than $600 to LLCs, unless the LLC has made the election to be treated as an S- or C-corp.  However, you should ask them to fill out a form W-9 for you.  They can check the box for LLC taxed as an S- or C-corp and then not provide their EIN, but that way you have their signature on file that they told you they are exempt from getting a 1099-MISC.  (If you take their word for it, and don't issue a 1099-MISC, and they are lying or mistaken, you can be fined for not issuing the 1099.  If you get the W-9 where they sign that they are an LLC taxed as an S or C, then you made a good faith effort to do the right thing.)