turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Goods purchased and reported on 1099

I am a remodeling contractor and have 1099 income reported. I purchase the items I use as in framing materials etc... Labor and materials are both reported on my 1099 as income. Where would I enter the materials part I purchased?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DawnC
Employee Tax Expert

If you don't keep an actual inventory account and want to use the COGS account (you don't have to use it) - just use 0 for both the beginning and year-end inventory balances.  

Large businesses that purchase, produce, and/or sell merchandise to generate income usually keep inventory and use the accrual method of accounting.  The inventory's value at year-end is subtracted from its value at the start of the year (plus purchases made during the year) to arrive at the cost of goods sold (COGS) for that year.

However, if your business's annual gross receipts for the last 3 tax years averages out to $26 million or less per year, you can opt to use the cash method and expense the cost of inventory at the time it was purchased, rather than waiting until after it's been sold.

In TurboTax, you can report these costs in the inventory section as COGS or in the expenses section as supplies.  Either way, you don't have to report inventory but you do need to carefully track what you paid for the products, materials, and supplies that go into your inventory.

Reporting inventory costs in TurboTax Online

Reporting inventory costs in TurboTax Home & Business

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"