Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099-NEC correction

I have been using TurboTax for over 25 years, but this is the first year I have had to file 1099s for independent contractors.  I used Intuit's Quick Employer Forms site, and it worked well, but I made an error on one of the forms, so I need to file a correction.  

Now, the Quick Employer Forms FAQ leaves me high and dry, providing only a list of *all possible* IRS forms. See https://quickemployerforms.intuit.com/faq.htm#CorrectForms. 

The most important question is this:  Because the original information return was file electronically, must I file the correction electronically?  From publication 1220, it appears that is a very complicated process, possibly requiring software that I don't have and don't know where to get.  Alternatively, may I file a paper correction?  This seems straightforward.  

It is irresponsible that Intuit does not provide better support for this Commonly Asked Question!  

Bradford R. Findell 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
BarbL
Employee Tax Expert

1099-NEC correction

You may file your corrections on paper even though the originals were filed electronically, as long as you are filing less than 250 corrected forms. 

Please see page 9:  https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1099gi.pdf

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

10 Replies
BarbL
Employee Tax Expert

1099-NEC correction

You may file your corrections on paper even though the originals were filed electronically, as long as you are filing less than 250 corrected forms.