Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Twilight Zone in the 2019 Amend Return workflow in TT?

Something extremely strange happened in TT Online. I'm a web developer so I'm pretty sure I'm seeing this right.

1. In May I used TT  online to file my 2019 taxes. I have the PDF output from that.
  2. In real life, my business accountant noticed in the PDF that my return for 2019 showed $0 mortgage interest deduction on Schedule A.
  3. I logged into TurboTax and found the Amend return action for 2019.
  4. Somehow (a glitch I think) I found myself back inside the main UI, as if I hadn't filed my 2019 taxes yet. I thought this was odd at the time, as the word "amend" didn't appear anywhere. 
  5. But it was helpful, actually, because the user interface was familiar. I pretty quickly found that I had entered my 1098 mortgage interest info, but I had mistakenly said the loan was unsecured. Thus the interest was calculated as not deductible. (I have major issues with TT not pointing out the inconsistency of this answer compared to prior years!! But that's not the point of this story.)
  6. I changed the answer to "Yes, it's secured by property" and clicked Continue.
  7. As expected, the refund/owe tracker in the upper left changed in my favor by a lot for both federal and state – just like it would have if I had entered it correctly back in April.
  8. At this point I had no idea what to do – I was deep in the middle of the full tax-prep process – so I clicked out of deductions ("wrap up deductions" or similar) and clicked ahead in the navigation to "Review Federal."
  9. (At this point I'm not sure exactly what happened. It definitely showed a summary screen, bragging about all the checks it was going to do to ensure my best refund. I'm not sure I clicked anything else.)