Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Refund changed/amended to a weird amount (dollars & cents)

So I did my son's tax return via TurboTax and of course had to mail it in since has to be manually signed by me.  His refund amount was $945.  After waiting more than 4 months for the refund, today they finally deposited $941.94

I always thought refunds were in whole amounts & can't figure out why it would be short $3.06.  I haven't received a letter yet but was curious if anyone else ever received cents?  I've been doing my taxes for almost 30 years and this is a first.  I can understand if taxes & penalties are applied when you owe, but a refund?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

Wait for the letter of explanation to come for the answer to your question.  Or have him log into his online IRS account  and/or use the Where's My Refund?  tool.    My guess would be they reduced your refund but then also added some interest payment for the delay in the processing time ... so it may be a combination of things.  

https://www.irs.gov/refunds

https://www.irs.gov/individuals/get-transcript

IRS has delayed processing of millions of returns.

When your tax refund is delayed, IRS pays you interest.

The extra dollars and cents are your interest, which is taxable interest income.

@toshajacks 

The son's refund is missing money, so it's not interest paid by the IRS.

@toshajacks - okay crazier things occur... please go back to his tax return and re-confirm the expected refund was $945.... any chance it was $935 and then the interest got tacked on?????