Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lalwani-n

I made a mistake while filling my W-4 form previously , corrected it now. Can I pay my missed tax through my upcoming payroll?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

I made a mistake while filling my W-4 form previously , corrected it now. Can I pay my missed tax through my upcoming payroll?

How short do you think you are going to be; how long were you short?
lalwani-n

around $800 , I am an intern as an F-1 student started working this August. I corrected my Form on 13th November and got correct deduction in my payroll after that.
lalwani-n

I actually made a mistake only in my State tax form. M-4 I guess. My federral tax was deducted properly . Only had no deductions in state tax

Well again, you probably won't owe a penalty, but if you want to make a payment, I would check your state tax department web site.  They probably also have electronic payments.  I would be concerned that something would go wrong if you try to get this fixed by filing the M-4 for a big withholding then filing another one to go back to normal.
lalwani-n

Okay thanks. So is paying it while filing returns is the best option for this?

If you might owe a penalty under state law, you should pay early.  I don't know all the state laws, I only know that for the IRS, you would not owe a penalty.  If you over-pay the estimate, you will get the difference as a refund (be sure to indicate in your tax program that you made an estimated payment).  As long as you don't owe a penalty, I would keep my money in my own pocket as long as possible.