turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

aiana222

I filed my taxes with turbotax but I am a non resident alien

Last year a friend helped me to do my taxes with turbotax. Now I found out that I can't use it because I am a non resident alien (i worked in the USA with work and travel program). I received my taxes but I am worried because I think I provided wrong information regarding my residence status for tax filling and I don't want to have problems in the future.

What can happen and what should I do to fix it?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

You will need to file an amended return (1040X) and send it with the correct NR return.  (Unfortunately Turbo Tax does not do the NR tax but see below, there is a partner that can do it)  The form and instructions can be found at the IRS website (https://www.irs.gov/uac/about-form-1040x).  The 1040X instructions say:

Resident and nonresident aliens.   Use Form 1040X to amend Form 1040NR or Form 1040NR-EZ. Also, use Form 1040X if you should have filed Form 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ instead of Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ, or vice versa.

To amend Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ, or to file the correct return, do the following:

• Enter your name, current address, and social security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) on the front of Form 1040X.

• Don’t enter any other information on page 1. Also, don’t complete Parts I or II on page 2 of Form 1040X.

• Enter in Part III the reason why you are filing Form 1040X.

• Complete a new or corrected return (Form 1040, Form 1040NR, etc.).

• Across the top of the new or corrected return, write “Amended.”

• Attach the new or corrected return to the back of Form 1040X.