turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Cell phone family plan

my family plan is 300 dollars  a month,but i use mine for work I'm a contractor can i file a deductible on it ?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
HelenaC

Cell phone family plan

Yes, if you are self-employed and you use your cell phone for business, you can claim the business use of your phone as a tax deduction. 

• If 30 percent of your time on the phone is spent on business, you could legitimately deduct 30 percent of your phone bill.
  • In “Entrepreneur” magazine, writer Kristin Edelhauser recommends getting an itemized phone bill, so you can measure your business and personal use and prove your deduction to the IRS.
  •  Alternatively, you could get a second phone number and use it exclusively for business.

Employee Use:    You can also deduct the business use of a cell phone if you are an employee rather than a business owner.You will only qualify, however, if your employer requires you to maintain a cell phone for business use. Calls you make after normal business hours do not count toward this deduction.

Related information:

View solution in original post

3 Replies
HelenaC

Cell phone family plan

Yes, if you are self-employed and you use your cell phone for business, you can claim the business use of your phone as a tax deduction. 

• If 30 percent of your time on the phone is spent on business, you could legitimately deduct 30 percent of your phone bill.
  • In “Entrepreneur” magazine, writer Kristin Edelhauser recommends getting an itemized phone bill, so you can measure your business and personal use and prove your deduction to the IRS.