turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mteverest

Housing allowance - pastor getting a 1099 MISC

I am a pastor, but my church does not want to hire me. Instead, we have a contract and I receive a 1099 MISC.  How do we handle "housing allowance?"  What should enter in Box 7 of 1099 MISC?  How should the church report the two separate numbers when they file taxes?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DianeW
Expert Alumni

When you receive a Form 1099-MISC Box 7 and not a W-2, Enter the 1099-MISC as business income. For the principal business code, use 813000 (religious organization). After you enter that business code you will get a screen about clergy income. Select "I Need to Pay Self-Employment Tax on This Income." The next screen will ask you to enter the amount of your housing allowance. Continue through the business interview and enter your 1099-MISC.

You can go directly to the area to begin to enter your income and expense for your pastoral self employment.

1. Select the Federal taxes tab (Business tab in Self Employed Online or TurboTax Home & Biz Desktop)
  2. Select Wages & Income 
  3. Scroll to Business Income
  4. Start or Update 
  5. Use the information above to complete your return. (see image attached).

View solution in original post

40 Replies
DianeW
Expert Alumni