turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kdalida

Was only insured for part of 2016 because I was a student/unemployed and had no income. I started having income after graduation and was insured through my employer.

Insurance was unaffordable until I got a job in June. Do I need to pay the fee for the first 6 months?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
NicoleU

Was only insured for part of 2016 because I was a student/unemployed and had no income. I started having income after graduation and was insured through my employer.

That will depend on your overall situation, there are a couple of exemptions that you may qualify:

• Hardship: If one of the following hardships or situations kept you from getting health insurance in 2016, you can apply for a penalty exemption after you file your taxes. If approved, you'll qualify to get back all or some of your penalty. It works like a rebate. We'll help you complete the application and submit it to the Marketplace after your taxes are filed.

Had health insurance plan issues
    - Health insurance company canceled plan.
    - Appealed Marketplace denial and won.

Faced financial hardship
    - Couldn't pay medical bills.
    - Got a utility shut-off notice.
    - Filed for bankruptcy.
    - Home damaged in fire, flood or other disaster.
    - Was evicted or foreclosed on.
    - Homeless now or last year.

Had another situation
    - Family member passed away.
    - Was caring for an ill, disabled or aging family member.
    - Suffered domestic violence.
    - Someone else was required to insure my dependent.
    - Served in AmeriCorps (State, National, VISTA or NCCC).
    - Member of a religious sect opposed to insurance.