Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

af15d

I was my mom's dependent until August, when I moved to another state and became independent. Can I specify in my taxes that I was only dependent for part of the year?

In August I graduated from undergrad, and moved from my mom's house to another state to start law school. I have been financially independent since then. Because I attend a public school, I have to prove that I've been independent since September. When my mom filed her taxes, she was told she had to claim me as a dependent or owe the IRS money, due to her allowances, etc. She claimed me, but the preparer added a note saying I had become independent in August. If I appear as dependent for the entire year it would impact my tuition (out of state is 40,000 while in-state is 20,000 and my goal is to practice in this state), and possibly my ability to get loans. Is there anything I can do to specify in my taxes when I became independent, or am I just screwed until next year?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I was my mom's dependent until August, when I moved to another state and became independent. Can I specify in my taxes that I was only dependent for part of the year?