turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Started new job 1-2-17 first year self-employed, worked half-year 2016, wife works W-2. How do I estimate payments for this first year to avoid penalties at end of year?

This is my first year being self-employed as an independent contractor; started my job Jan. 1, 2017. Worked half year in 2016 with a W-2. Also, wife is W-2 employed and continues to be W-2 employed.

I expect to make around $33-34K this year total and want to make quarterly payments to avoid penalties and interest, but there doesn't seem to be a way to calculate this on the 1040-ES.

Thank you for your responses.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
Coleen3
Intuit Alumni

Started new job 1-2-17 first year self-employed, worked half-year 2016, wife works W-2. How do I estimate payments for this first year to avoid penalties at end of year?

Turbotax will walk the process of estimating your taxes for 2017. Follow the steps below:

You can print next year's estimated tax vouchers (Form 1040-ES) in your 2016 program:

1. Open your 2016 return in TurboTax.
  2. Search for 1040-es (exact phrase) in your program's search box, located in the upper right corner.
  3. Click the Jump to 1040-es link in the search results.
  4. Answer No to the W-4 withholding question to start the estimated payment calculations interview.
  • You'll be asked a series of questions about your 2017 income. Answer them as best you can.
  • When you get to the Print Vouchers? screen, answer Yes. They'll print with your federal return.
  •