turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Dom2
Level 3

Roth IRA - Report net regular contributions prior to 2020

I've been taking relatively small roth distributions for the last three years.  If I have been using TurboTax for many years I'm confused why the program would be asking a question about contributions.  Isn't this information provided each year when taxes are completed.  Unless I'm missing something it seems TurboTax should supply this information instead of me tracking it outside the program.  Again, unless I'm missing something here.

Thoughts?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

My guess:  

The numbers that TT imports from the prior year are static, that is they are either from the previous year or totaled from previous years (think capital loss carryover).  TT does not track your prior years' activities that are not summarized each year such as IRA Contributions/Withdrawals because all they use to pre-load is the previous year if available.

Too many options every year to try to program that for us.

Irene2805
Expert Alumni

TurboTax may be asking if you had any contributions to a Roth IRA because you may not have entered information about your Roth contributions.  There is no deduction benefit for contributing to Roth IRA. 

While Roth contributions are not reported on your tax return, it is a good idea to enter them the in the IRA contribution section anyway because TurboTax will:

• track the basis of your contributions for you year-to-year. [This becomes important when you start making withdrawals--to track how much of the distribution is taxable.]
  • alert you if your MAGI exceeds the Roth contribution limit and are subject to a penalty.