turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Total cost of inventory purchased. Where should I have entered it?

This is my first year selling on ebay. I started on January 1 so I started with zero inventory. Under Schedule C inventory/cost of goods sold I only put the inventory cost amount I sold. My question I have filed my taxes, but where should I have put my total so I would have a carry over? It asked enter cost of purchases I entered only the cost that I sold. Where should I have entered the total cost? I guess once my return is process and I get my refund I need to amend?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies

You started with 0 inventory so you only need to add your cost of purchases and then subtract your ending inventory to get your cost of goods sold. You ending inventory this year will be your beginning inventory next year.

ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

When you click on "Inventory/Cost of Goods Sold" in the business section of TurboTax, if you report that you have inventory, you will be asked to enter your beginning inventory and end of year inventory.

Your ending inventory will carry over as your beginning inventory for next year. The value of your ending inventory will be subtracted from the cost of your purchases in the current year and the beginning inventory will be added to your cost of purchases.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Carl
Level 15

This is my first year selling on ebay. I started on January 1 so I started with zero inventory.

That is correct. First, some terminology definitions.