Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sagarjvora
Returning Member

social security and medicare tax corrected finally on W2c but not yet filed by employer.

My employer did not withhold my FICA (social security and medicare). They thought I am a student.

I discovered that while filing my 2018 return. so far my social security and medicare tax withheld =0

I filed my other taxes (federal and state) and I also filed for tax extension to get time to deal with employer on social security and medicare taxes.

Upon requesting employer, they provided corrected W2c. Now W2c displays social security and medicare boxes (its correct amount on W2c). but employer has not yet filed those taxes. Employer is asking me to file those. I think social security and medicare taxes are employer's responsibility to file them. I told my employer that I can reimburse them in check but it seems they are not clear of the process and they think I should file these taxes.

What should I do?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

social security and medicare tax corrected finally on W2c but not yet filed by employer.

You are correct.  YOU cannot file or report FICA tax.    Nothing about FICA actually goes on a tax return at all.  The only reason to enter it is so it can be determined if you are owed a refund of over withheld  Social Security and or Medicare tax.    AS long as not over withheld then nothing at all is on your tax return.  

The actual SS and Medicare tax is administrated by the Social Security Administration and not the IRS.   The employer must submit the W2-C so that the SSA can credit your account.