Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Overpayment of social security tax and CA-SDI due to multiple employers

On top of my daily job, I also work as an IHSS live-in provider in 2023.  Per my understand, I don't need to pay any federal and state (California) tax for my IHSS income as a live-in provider.  No federal or state tax had been withhold.  However, social security tax, medicare tax, and CA-SDI were withhold for IHSS income.  As a result, I have overpaid social security tax and CA-SDI.  There is no limit for medicare tax.

For 2023, max social security tax per person is 9932.4, and I paid 9932.4+554.01 through my two jobs.

Max CA-SDI is 1378.48, and I paied 1378.48+80.42.

That said, I need to enter the IHSS W2 data to Turbotax Premier, and I found https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/taxes/discussion/ihss-live-in-provider-0-in-box-1-2-16-and-18/00/2... on this topic.  

My questions:
Will Turbotax automatically calculate and claim refund for my social security tax and CA-SDI overpayment?  Or I need to do something extra?  How do I confirm if the right amount of credit has been claimed (looking at certain form or lines?)?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

You will get credit for your excess social security tax when you prepare your tax return in TurboTax. It will be credited toward your federal income tax paid in for the year of the excess. It will show on schedule 3, line 11. You should also get credit for excess SDI on line 74 of your California Resident Income Tax Return form 540. You can look at those lines on your tax returns to insure that you have received the proper credit.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post