Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Rae Baler
Returning Member

My employer is not withholding any federal taxes from my checks

I live in Missouri, I work in Illinois. I am a lab extraction technician for a cannabis manufacturing facility. 

I am not an independent contractor. 

I am having an issue with my employer not with holding ANY federal taxes from my paycheck for two months before I caught the issue. I filed an appropriate W-4 document from the time I was hired and had no issues for a year and a few months. I even printed the documents out and proved there was no issue on my end to only be told I am liable for the money (which I know is true, however it is not my fault for it not being withheld) not paid in and they aren’t concerned. I was met with resistance every conversation I tried to have. 

I have tried reaching out to the IRS for help or to file a report and have no luck getting an actual person or getting transferred to someone else without immediately getting hung up on for “high volume calls”. 

I am frustrated and at a loss for what to do. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

You can fill out a new W-4 to increase your withholding for the rest of the year to make up for the two months that no tax was withheld. That will resolve the issue. As long as the total amount withheld for the year is sufficient, it doesn't matter when it was withheld.

If you do increase your withholding, be sure to submit another new W-4 at the beginning of 2023 to go back to normal withholding, so that you don't have an excessive amount withheld in 2023.