turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Landlord income taxes for renter

I own a house and my roommate is unemployed and applied for rental assistance. I received 6,300 of it to pay towards his part of the mortgage. Will I have to pay tax on this money I received?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
RossP88
Expert Alumni

Hi! I am a TurboTax Live CPA. Yes, since you collected rent, you will need to pay tax on that income regardless of the source. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

If you are a landlord and are receiving rent, you report the income you received.  The fact that your renter received assistance is not relevant.  It was still income to you.    Do you and your roommate have a written lease or rental agreement?  Or is this just a roommate cost sharing arrangement?

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Since I have to pay taxes on the money received, what in my house will I be able to write off?

Michele_H
Employee Tax Expert

Hi @eburnham64! You will be able to exclude certain expenses on your rental property I am attaching some articles to help you determine what you can include.

https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/tips-on-rental-real-estate-income-dedu...

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/rental-property/rental-property-deductions-you-can-take-at-tax-...

http://taxpreparationchecklist.com/checklists/schedule-e-checklist.htm