turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sailqa17

I worked as a property manager in the USA, and did not leave the country. However my pay came from a Cayman Island bank account. How do I report this?

The company that paid me, does not have an EIN.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

I worked as a property manager in the USA, and did not leave the country. However my pay came from a Cayman Island bank account. How do I report this?

Your income would be self-employment income from what your describe. You can report it as such in TurboTax by using the following tabs:

1. Federal
  2. Income and expenses
  3. Self-employment income and expenses

You can deduct expenses associated with the activity and your net income will be subject to self-employment tax.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
sailqa17

Thank you, Thomas, for your reply.

The hurtle I am experiencing is when TurboTax asks for the EIN of the company I worked for.  Since it's a Cayman Island company, there is no EIN.  What do I do at this point?

ToddL99
Expert Alumni

You do not need to have a FEIN to report self-employment income; use the General Income tab under Business Income and Expenses to report income that is not reported on Form W-2 0r 1099-NEC. If you have tried to report under the 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC tabs, delete those entries.