turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a 22-year-old full-time student and my parents aren't Americans How can I fill form 8615 since my parents don't have SSN and still e-file my taxes, I'm abroad

form 8615
Non-citizens
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

I am a 22-year-old full-time student and my parents aren't Americans How can I fill form 8615 since my parents don't have SSN and still e-file my taxes, I'm abroad

if your parents are not citizens, they won't be filing a return.

therefore no one can claim you.

when you are not a dependent, form 8615 goes away.

rjs
Level 15
Level 15

@salahdanial98 

You can be subject to kiddie tax (Form 8615) even if no one can claim you as a dependent. Being someone's dependent is not one of the conditions for the kiddie tax.

Are you a U.S. citizen or resident alien? If you are a nonresident alien, you cannot use TurboTax.

The IRS apparently never considered the possibility of a someone being required to file Form 8615 whose parents are foreign. They do not provide any instructions or guidance for this situation. I don't have a good answer for you. If you are subject to kiddie tax, you cannot e-file your tax return if your parents do not file a U.S. tax return.