turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mfmash1
Returning Member

How to solve this?

Hello,

I was an international student from (late 2016 till late 2020). I also had a job on campus and SSN. I didn't know anything about filing tax, and i didn't even know i can do. Anyways, some international friends of mine told me to file it using Turbotax as they always do. So, I filed my tax return for 2019 after getting my W-2 form and last week I filed the 2020 one. I was reading about that international students shouldn't use Turbotax. Unfortunately, I didn't know about that and I feel bad about it, and I wished that Turbotax or the IRS rejected my request. As of now, I wanted to cancel my request, but it seems like i can't do it. What can i do if I am not in the US anymore? and will be there any penalties or something? I am just afraid that IRS will consider it as a tax fraud. Kindly advice. 

Thank you, 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

How to solve this?

You can file an amended tax return through Sprintax to fix your 2019 and 2020 tax returns. For 2020, wait until the IRS accepts your return before preparing an amended return.

The IRS will not consider an honest mistake to be tax fraud. There are no criminal penalties for making an unintentional mistake on your tax return. However, you may have to pay penalty and interest if you owe more tax.

If you were a student, I assume you were on an F-1 visa, making you exempt for five calendar years (2016-2020). During those years, you should have filed a non-resident income tax return (Form 1040NR or Form 1040NR-EZ).

Learn more at Which tax form should I use: Form 1040, 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ?