Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How should I file 8833 through turbotax and where should I send it along with my tax return?

I am a Resident Alien from China on OPT - F-1 visa. I have known that turbotax will not prepare 8833 for me. Therefore, where should I ask help for this 8833(I would prefer online software service)? And also what is the mailing address for my federal tax return in this case? Should it be in TX? And I know I have to e-file NY state return, do I still need to attach the 8833 along with it? Does turbotax support attaching 8833?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
RalphH1
Expert Alumni

How should I file 8833 through turbotax and where should I send it along with my tax return?

Unfortunately, with the tax code being as big and complex as it is, difficult ongoing choices have to be made about how much of it a software program can handle and still work efficiently for everyone. And our TurboTax decision-makers have thus far included certain foreign-related forms (such as the 1116, 2555, and even the 8938), and have not included (or not yet included) others.

Also, you can generally skip Form 8833 (and thus e-file your return) if you’re only excluding W-2 income (which is the main treaty benefit our users claim). The IRS tells us about this here, in the instructions for the form, in the third column on page 3.

@TANGOBABY, TurboTax gives you the opportunity to take a survey after filing, and I suggest mentioning the 8833 there. Our company does read those surveys and act upon them, as things are constantly evolving. In the meantime, we hope you still value the overall quality of our software and support!