turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

First-Year Choice and Amendment Question

Hello, 

I am a J1 Teacher. I started working in the USA on the 1st August 2018. I'm compensated by a US school. 

I filed a 1040NR (Non-resident) tax return for 2018, and the same for 2019 (I completed this at the end of January 2020). 

My questions is two fold: 

I pass the substantial presence test. Does that mean I qualify for First Year Choice. I'm technically now a resident for tax purposes but that won't be until I file my 2020 tax return.

Because I've submitted a 1040NR for 2019, and if I'm eligible for First Year Choice, can I go ahead an submit an amended Tax Return using 1040X to ensure that I'm treated as a tax resident for this current year? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DavidS127
Expert Alumni

You don't have any countable days of presence in 2019, which is a requirement for First-Year Choice.  You days in the U.S. on your J1 teaching visa aren't "countable" as a day of presence until your third year (i.e., 2020).

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

10 Replies
LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

Are you on the J-visa for both 2018 and 2019?  If you are on J-visa for both 2018 and 2019, you are considered as a nonresident and should file Form 1040-NR.  The First year choice is not relevant. 

From January 1st, 2020, you would start counting your days.  If you meet the 183 days for SPT Substantial Presence Test, you will be considered as a US resident for tax purposes and will file a Form 1040 for the tax year 2020.