Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

First Time Filing

This is my first time filing and doing everything myself. I have always had a family friend or my aunt just do my taxes for me. However, I moved out of state and my aunt retired. So I am having to file for 2021 and 2022, and I have no clue what I am doing. I have put this off for so long because it honestly just doesn't make any sense to me, even though I have 2 business degrees (BSBA and MIB). A few questions:

1. Is it bad that I am just now filing for 2021? What are the potential consequences for filing late?

2. I have made donations to charities, totaling about $500, that are tax-deductible. What does this really mean and where do I report these when filing?

3. I have a 1095-C from my employer for my insurance. Where do I report this or does it need to be reported?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

First Time Filing

1. Is it bad that I am just now filing for 2021? What are the potential consequences for filing late?

If you have taxes owed on the 2021 tax return you will need to pay those taxes ASAP since penalties and interest will accrue until the taxes are paid.  The IRS will send you a bill in the mail for the penalties and interest owed.

If you have a tax refund on the 2021 tax return there are no penalties for filing after the due date of the 2021 tax return.

2. I have made donations to charities, totaling about $500, that are tax-deductible. What does this really mean and where do I report these when filing?