Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Filing with an LLC vs Independent contractor

Hi there, I recently started a new career and I work as an independent contractor (we receive a 1099 yearly).  Is it better for me to file with an LLC to better protect my assets?  Sorry I'm not too familiar with LLC's or working independently.  

I also have a full time job through an employer so I am both employed and I have my own business now. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
RyanH5
Employee Tax Expert

Generally speaking, there is no tax advantage to establishing an LLC since they are considered a disregarded entity. What this means is that unless an S-Corp election is also made, a Single Member LLC is taxed as a sole proprietorship just as if the LLC was not established. This is done by filing a Schedule C to claim the business income and expenses.

Multi-member LLC's are taxed as a partnership unless a S-Corp election is made. Partnerships must file a form 1065 to claim the business income and expenses, but do not pay taxes. Instead, K-1 is then issued to all partners that states their portion of income and expenses, and that flows through to their personal tax returns (generally as self employment income).
As I mentioned above, either can make an S-Corp election. S-Corps, like partnerships, do not pay taxes, but must file an 1120-S and issue a K-1 to all owners. In addition, S-Corps must pay their owners W-2 wages. These W-2 wages and K-1 earnings are reported on the individual tax return.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you for that information RyanH5.