Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Passive Losses Carried Over Form 8582

This is my first year filing my own taxes through TurboTax whereas before, a CPA did mine. When reporting passive losses carried over from 2022, Turbotax has a field for Shedule E Regular Tax carryover. It says "If you had Form 8582 last year, look for this info on Page 2 Worksheet 5". In my 8582 form from 2022 Page 2 Worksheet 5, I have:

Current Year Net Loss b)  1,254

Prior Year Unallowed Loss c) 4,672

Overall Loss e) 5,926

In the "Learn More", it says: "To determine if you have any passive activity losses carrying forward from the prior year, look to last year’s Form 8582, Page 2, Part 7 (VII), and identify whether there is a line item for this activity that has an amount in “Unallowed loss." Part 7 (VII) of Form 8582 shows the amount of the unallowed passive activity losses for this activity. " 

So in my 2022 Form 2022 Part 7, it says my unallowed loss c) is 5,926.

So for my 2023 tax filing, should I enter 5,926 into the field that says "Sch E Regular Tax Carryovers"? Or would it be one of the other numbers from Part 5?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

Yes, $5,926 shows as an unallowed loss for 2022 on your Form 8582. Enter that amount in your 2023 tax return in the field 'Sch E Regular Tax Carryovers'.  Be sure to keep your 8582 for 2023 because you may need to enter any unallowed 2023 losses on your 2024 tax return.  You are doing great on your own.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"