Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

non-passive rental loss

I'm a real estate professional and I materially participate in some of my properties but not all. For the properties that I materially participate in (short-term rental such as Airbnb and Vrbo), I'm going to take the rental loss as active loss from my total income. Am I able to take the rental loss from passively managed properties such as a long-term annual lease rentals from off my total income as well by combining all rental activities together or I can only take those losses as passive loss under the corresponding properties?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

non-passive rental loss

You can elect to treat all interests in rental real estate as one activity. Then since you are a REP,  you would be deemed to materially participate in all of them.  This requires filing an election with your timely filed return declaring that you are a qualifying taxpayer (REP) for the year and are making the election pursuant to iRC SEC 469(c)(7)(A). According to the IRS this does not affect whether or not you're a REP. It's only considered for determining  material participation in your rental real estate activities (CCA 201427016). This election is irrevocable unless there is a material change in your facts and circumstances. (for example yo fail to qualify as a REP)

View solution in original post

3 Replies

non-passive rental loss