turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If no one claimed me as a dependent, can I claim the first and second stimulus checks on line 30 of the 1040 for for 2020? I am a 20 year-old full-time student.

For the 2019 tax year, I attempted to file as independent, but somehow I was filed as dependent. I am planning to file as independent for the 2020 tax year and my parents have no intention of claiming me. Is it still possible to receive credit for both stimulus checks?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
DMarkM1
Employee Tax Expert

If no one claimed me as a dependent, can I claim the first and second stimulus checks on line 30 of the 1040 for for 2020? I am a 20 year-old full-time student.

Yes.  If no one can claim you as a dependent on their tax return then you should file a 2020 tax return to claim the Recovery Rebate Credit.  The amount will be the total amount of rounds one and two minus any amounts that you received in any of those rounds. 

If you received zero payments, you will get the full amount of rounds one and two added to your tax return as a refundable credit.  It will show up on line 30 of your Form 1040.

Be sure when you are answering the "Personal Info" questions in TurboTax you indicate that you "Cannot be claimed by someone else".  

Here is a link with more information on the Recovery Rebate Credit.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"