Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

duran55km

I worked as an election official this year. Where/how do I report my earnings?

I earned $268.50. I was told that these are exempt wages where no taxes were taken out. Where/how do I report.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
KatyS

Firstly, here is a link to determine if your election earnings are in fact tax exempt. https://www.irs.gov/government-entities/federal-state-local-governments/election-workers-reporting-a...

If they are taxable, the IRS considers  undocumented cash income (no W-2 or 1099-MISC), for work performed, to be self employment income. Enter at "Business Income & Expenses" and TurboTax (TT) will complete Schedule C or C-EZ for you and allow you to deduct any expenses associated with this income. You'll also have to pay self employment tax (social security) on any profits greater than $400.

You may have to upgrade to the Home & Business version of TT. There's a chance you may be able to use TT Deluxe or Premier. Enter your income at the 1099-Misc screen (even if you didn't get a 1099-misc). For details, see https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1901317-schedule-c-ez-net-profit-from-a-business

If the income was for something other that work or services, where it is entered depends on the source. But, in general, "other income " is reported on line 21 of form 1040. In TurboTax (TT), enter at:

- Federal Taxes tab (Personal in  Home & Business)

- Wages & Income

-          “I’ll choose what I work on” Button

Scroll down to:

-Less Common Income

-Misc Income, 1099-A, 1099-C.