turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

My stock brokerage account sent me 1099 form, so I am not sure if do I really need to file an amount of my losses and profits. (its only under $100). Thanks

I am a student, and I filed my taxes under my parents, but I forgot to provide my 1099-form  from brokerage account. As I mentioned I have loss and profit under $100 in that 1099 form. Thank for answers in advance! 

Mike K

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ThomasM

My stock brokerage account sent me 1099 form, so I am not sure if do I really need to file an amount of my losses and profits. (its only under $100). Thanks

If you received a 1099-B with stock/fund sales, then you'll need to include that on your return.  If you've already filed, then you'll have to amend your return and add the missing info.

It's not the gain/loss amount which is the issue, it's the gross proceeds amount.  If you don't include those sales, IRS will look at the proceeds (the total of all your sale prices) and assess you tax as if that were your gain.  Even though your actual gain (once purchase price has been subtracted) may only be a hundred bucks, you'll wind up getting an IRS notice showing a much higher gain, plus a tax bill and penalty & interest.

You need to amend and list that 1099-B info.

View solution in original post

19 Replies
ThomasM

If you received a 1099-B with stock/fund sales, then you'll need to include that on your return.  If you've already filed, then you'll have to amend your return and add the missing info.