Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm a realtor for vehicle expense deduction if last year i used the standard mileage deduction is there any risk or problem switching to actual expenses?

I'm a realtor for vehicle expense deduction if last year i used the standard mileage deduction is there any risk or problem switching to actual expenses? Maintenance was much higher this year on the vehicle.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies

I'm a realtor for vehicle expense deduction if last year i used the standard mileage deduction is there any risk or problem switching to actual expenses?

To use the standard mileage rate for a car you own, you must choose to use it in the first year the car is available for use in your business. Then, in later years, you can choose to use the standard mileage rate or actual expenses.

AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

As long as you used the standard mileage rate during the first year that you placed the vehicle in service, then you can switch between the two expense methods in subsequent years.  If you used the actual expense method the first year you placed it in service, then you must stick with actual expenses as long as you use the vehicle for business purposes.

To learn more, take a look at the following TurboTax help article:

Standard Mileage vs. Actual Expenses: Getting the Biggest Tax Deduction

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

So then if we started standard mileage deduction, then go the Actual cost this year, then next year if we do not have a lot of repairs we can switch back to the standard mileage deduction that next year going forward..?