Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

timrice

I got a 1099 MISC for the sale of Solar Renewable Energy Credits ("SREC's) and TT put it on my Schedule C which is wrong. Where should I list this income?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies
trwaltner

I got a 1099 MISC for the sale of Solar Renewable Energy Credits ("SREC's) and TT put it on my Schedule C which is wrong. Where should I list this income?

Why is it wrong?
timrice

It's "wrong" because I am a self employed artist, and TT listed it on that Schedule C. I removed it and put it on my form 1040, line 21, other income.
timrice

It's "wrong" because I am a self employed artist, and TT listed it on that Schedule C. I removed it and put it on my form 1040, line 21, other income.
tjwillard

SRECs are not from selling electricity to a power company.  SRECs are a government-created incentive, through which power companies purchase certificates based on the power that you produce and register with an aggregator.  My SREC aggregator sent me a 1099-MISC with the proceeds listed in BOX 3, Other Income, not BOX 7.
timrice

@tjwillard  I understand that. I know what SREC's are; the question was where on my return to report the income (as you can see from my comment above I have since decided to put it on my 1040 Line 21). If I may ask, where on your return did you report your SREC income?
tjwillard