turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

hineskh

I earned commissions as an Arbonne Consultant. Most were for items purchased for personal use. Where do I deduct this income amt from schedule C, & what do I call it?

I purchase health products under my husband's name--he is listed as a client, but we both consume the products daily. (protein shakes, skincare, etc.) The products are paid from my checking account.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
hineskh

I earned commissions as an Arbonne Consultant. Most were for items purchased for personal use. Where do I deduct this income amt from schedule C, & what do I call it?

I AM an Arbonne Consultant. I did make commissions that are reportable as income on Schedule C. As an example, I made $10,000 in commissions, but $8500 of those commissions were on sales to me. (comes out of my checking account). The $8500 would not actually be income to me, it was just my discount being sent back to me. I don't know what to call this when I subtract it from my business income, or where exactly to list the amount.
DianeW
Expert Alumni

The purchases from Arbonne that are for personal use are not part of the tax return.  If you are not in the business of being an Arbonne Consultant, engaged in the activity for a profit making venture, then this is hobby income.  The income and the expense should be listed under hobby.

Please use the information below to enter your hobby income and expense.  Keep in mind:

1. that the hobby expenses are used only if you can itemize deductions and are further limited in the miscellaneous expense category by 2% of your adjusted gross income (AGI), and